V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
100th Road Glide
283 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

I have ridden my 03 RoadGlide about 4 times since I bought it in late November and each ride has not been that long. The guy I bought it from told me it was due oil service so I figured I would get it done when the weather breaks since I don't have a heated place to work on it. I went on a decent ride saturday and after about 40 miles my oil pressure showed about 0 when sitting at a red light and then the small red oil light came on. I kind of freaked since I am new to Harleys and I am just learning them. I quickly pulled over and checked the oil with the bike sitting level and it showed low. The service station did not have any 20w50 so I put in a quart of 10w40 since it was cool that day and I figured it would be ok. The light never came on again and the bike ran flawless so when I got home while the engine was still hot I drained everything, Primary, engine and tranny. I had all of the replacement fluids that I had bought from my local HD shop and did the changes, new o- rings on the plugs, filters etc. I added the oils then the next morning when the bike was cold I raised the bike via the lift I got from sears and pulled the plugs and rolled the rear wheel to check my primary, I never could find a tight spot and everything checked out for up and down play to be 5/8-7/8 cold. Really was not that difficult at all considering all I had ever done was *** sportbikes. More in-depth here but still not a biggie. The question I have after all my explaining is what should my oil pressure be? I thought I read somewhere on this site and did a search but could not find it that at idle I should have about 5 psi. When I 1st start it and its getting warmed up it settles to about 5 and at speed in high gear 60mph its less than 30 but when I come up to a light and stop it sometimes goes all the way to 0 but the oil light does not come on. After I rode for a while today it