V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got a 1990 flht bought it in 10-05 from H-D dealer. was a full prep,oils, filter, primary, etc. Also a reman motor put in by dealer. At about 1000 miles I thought I would "double check" there work(I am a Deisel Tech. so I am familar with mechanicals etc.) when I opened the primary I found it about empty(1/2pint or so) Dropped it out replaced it with new and good to go... (under advisement of dealer) later on down the road 2 weeks happened to notice oil comin out breather checked and found oil to full. Oil lines were ratty lookin thought return might be clogged. replaced lines, good to go no more blow out. week goes by primary starts whining... check it and find it about 1/2 pint left... the oil tank is about at top. add oil to primary... minute or so later w/ eng. running pukes oil out breather and top of tank... call dealer back... says might be seal to crank on case... I'm sure I could remedy but was wondering if seal is maybe leaking or maybe not instaled... didnt insp.behind rotor but... By the way dealer is located 120 miles from me possible not warranty. any thoughts?
Thanks for the help.
Rip

·
2005 Road King Classic
1,632 Posts
Have him fix it. Engine is sucking oil out of primary.

·
Registered
372 Posts
Sounds like the check ball in the oil pump is not seating, allowing the crankcase to wet sump "oil draining into the crankcase from the oil tank".
I have never seen oil get sucked out of the primary. HD did not even use a seal on the left main shaft until 1969.
On the contrary engine oil will tend to bleed into the primary.
Also if you have one of those absolutly useless filters on the breather line, take it off.
Draw some oil out of the oil tank. start the engine and see if the oil level rises if it does, then oil is creeping past the oil pump check ball and filling the cases.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·