V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the H-D family. Just bought the '06 Electra Glide Classic. Do some of you seniors have a recommendation as to whether the auxiliary oil cooler is better than the fan or should I leave well enough alone. I don't plan on parade riding or expect to get caught in traffic very often. I was just curious about the benefits.
Thanks
Rat

·
Premium Member
460 Posts
I have an 03 FXD. I run synthetic in it and I can say that it fairly is tough to overheat this motor. Last summer, I got stuck in traffic on the eway following about two hrs at 80mph. Basically we idled for 45 minutes. The oil temp went to 260 and didnt go any higher. It was 90F and humid outside.

·
Banned
21,644 Posts
I bought one last year before going to Memphis in late June. Don't know if it helped the bike at all, but I figure it souldn't hurt. Probably a better investment then some of the stuff we buy. Not that I am saying it is needed. But I ride in a alot of stop and go traffic, it might buy me a few more minutes.

If you do a lot of relaxing driving, where the bike is moving, your probably ok, especially in Northern climates.

·
Banned
21,644 Posts
Since I installed it, I have started carry oil line and hose clamps in the my saddlebags. Actually you should have for your carb anyways.

·
Premium Member
3,624 Posts
Forget the fan. They are prone to breakage. An oil cooler won't hurt, but likely isn't necessary for riding where you live. I don't use one. Your bike is hard to overheat, anyway, if it is FI. The engine management system will take over if you let it overheat. My '03 work bike will sometimes get overheated if I leave it idling too long while I'm on a traffic stop. The ECM will make the engine start missing badly till you blip the throttle.

·
Banned
21,644 Posts
I would rather not have to have the ECM kick in.