V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Bowhntr
282 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I've been riding for about 20 years, and have owned everything from yamahas to guzzi's. My current mounts are an R1150GS and a Ducati St4, the later of which will be sacrificed in the spring for my first Harley Davidson. I am not taking this lightly, and over the next several months will need help with some decisions. I will be able to get pretty much any harley I want (within practical limits), but hope to get some guidance from the members of this forum to help me make the right choice (I'll save specific questions for the appropriate forums).

I look forward to posting here and appreciate the feedback in advance.

-Screwtop

·
Premium Member
1,941 Posts
Hello, and welcome aboard :)

My .02

As I've gotten older, ( I'll be 40, next spring ) I've come to enjoy the smoothness of the touring models. ( Electra Glide, Road King, Road Glide ). I have a 98 fatboy that has been dropped and customized, and makes for a nice compliment to my dresser, but given the choice, I prefer my 04 E-Glide, as I ride it 90% of the time.

The touring models have everything a greying beard would want. CD, fm/am/weather, cruise control, comfortable seating, highway pegs, fairing with multiple windshields, plenty of room for luggage..etc..etc.. You can definitely grow old with these bikes, as they make for nice long distance cruisers.

I've already taken my Glide on two, round trip rides this year...2,333 miles to Orlando FL, this spring, and 894 miles to Nashville Tenn, this fall.

Not one single problem.

Many dealers offer test rides. I would take advantage of this. In the end, my advice is to buy the Harley that you want. The rest is a matter of simple adjustments, and seat time bonding.

good luck, and congratulations on your future purchase

David

·
Registered
51 Posts
Screwtop said:
Hello everyone,