V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As I mentioned in another forum topic, I am a newbie that is very close to finishing the MSF course. Really love it. Anyway, I just bought a 2002 XL883 Sportster today for $6,500.00 with 1188 miles on it. I pick it up this friday and can hardly wait. Just got a a few questions though:

1. What inexpensive/free hp/performance upgrades can I do immediately after getting the bike? (I have years of experience in hopping up cars, rebuilding engines, etc.)

2. What do lowering springs cost approx? Does front end need to be lowered if lowering the rear?

3. What immediate maintenance items should I perform after getting the bike home? As with all cars/trucks I have owned, I usually change the transmission/engine oil, change air filter/fuel filter, plugs etc. Just force of habit I guess.

4. Any other mods/fixes/recommendations that any other sportster owners may have.

Thanks again.:D

·
Registered
679 Posts
Hello,

Congrats on the new bike. I am still waiting to get mine. Soon, soon.

From what I have been able to gather, by far the best value for power from a stock bike is to add a K&N filter, rejet the carb and add Cycle Shack slipon mufflers. The baloney cuts have removable baffles. All of this, if done probably should run less than $250 ($65 for filter, $100 for mufflers, and $70 for rejet kit). This should yeild a 20% increase in hp or about 10 ponies. This is the Stage I upgrade.

The extreme budget way, although I do not recommend, would be to drill out the stock baffles, drill a few holes in the stock air filter plate, and rejet. This is free except for the jetting needles (less than $10). I'm not sure what the numbers will yield here.

Other than that, you'll have to spend, spend, spend to get more power.

I hope this helps.

·
Registered
679 Posts