V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey gang,
1st post... complete newb here so flame while you can!
:)

Here's the deal:
A friend of the family has a 1993 Heritage Softail that he had customized.
He's the original owner, so this is like his child. Other projects that have come along have forced him to think of selling his bike but, #1 he's not sure if he wants to & #2, he tells me that he's put A LOT of money into it (could over $30 K be real?) & isn't even sure what he'd ask or what he'd even get.

From these pics, what would you more or less place the Bike at?

Enjoy the pics & thanks,

*SS*

(Admis: I put this here because the bike is a Softail, but if it's in the wrong section, PLEASE move thread at will) thnx

·
Registered
312 Posts
He might have 30k in it. but it isn't worth anywhere near that much. Unless there is alot of engine work i would think 30K is a stretch. I diffently wouldn't pay more than a new bike. At 10 years old it would depend alot on the condition of the motor, how many miles, and whether it looked like it was taken care of. To me service records mean alot on a 10 year old bike. But I want to ride them and not wash them. Just my opinion, maybe someone else will chime in.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
THIS is VERY good info guys. Thanks.

You live & learn. It seems that the owner of this bike is going to have to
do just that. He never expected to get back the money he invested
because he never even considered selling it in the future.

So, because of this, he of course kept the bike in tip top shape & always
took care of it but never thought of keeping records & such.
A VERY expensive lesson for him to learn.

It's funny though becuase everyone I've shown the bike to LOVES it
instantly... like I do, & the more I look at it & talk about it, the more I
want to do something crazy...
Like offer him something reasonable (affordable to me of course) while