V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys newbie here just got my 99 fxd. It has the forward controls which I want to replace with mid controls. I also want to do a chain conversion (for wheelies;) Where would be a good place to start looking for stuff like this? I also want to get some bars maybe some suspension stuff
IMG_20200525_152105.jpg
IMG_20200525_152057.jpg
IMG_20200525_152051.jpg

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
532 Posts
Here's a place you can go to check for what exactly came as stock for your year and model. But don't think you can just go browsing their parts list all day. They kicked me out and banned me for like 2 weeks or a month once because they thought I was a competitor trying to steal their info, jumping from one page to another

Once you learn how Harley Davidson parts numbers are organized, you'll see that lots of stuff has been used for many years and models. If you find something that comes off say, a 96 Superglide and the parts numbers match, they're the same things used on a 99 Superglide. When you buy your 99 Dyna Service manual from the dealership, you can also purchase your very own copy of the Official parts manual. It will have everything with numbers to aide in your search for the parts you need to retrofit whatever you want. Just the quick search I made showed the pegs, brackets, and shifting and braking stuff was the same. But do your own research and don't quote me on it.

You'll also see that the Moco made a lot of improvements over the years, and some later stuff will also bolt right up. It's almost like getting a new bike. Just have to do your research. There are places in the online auctions that sell good used stuff for good prices. Sometimes you can get whole assemblies, makes things easy. They are usually takeoffs from bikes that were salvaged after someone dropped their bike, or did something like follow too close and ran into the back of someone.