V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started riding bikes in 1973 - first one was an Itom 49 cc torture pipe! Later upgraded to Yamahas: a 180 twin and then an XJ750 twin while studying and the first year working.
Then came marriage, kids, responsibility(!), etc. In 1988 I got a dirtbike going and when my son was 7 years old in 1992 I got him a Yamaha PW80 too, so we started off-road biking together. These were wonderful times - we really had a lot of fun together! My son suffers with concentration problems, but on a bike he has to concentrate else you fall off - magic therapy!!
Around 1996 I saved a 1983 Suzuki GSX400F from going to the rubbish dump, and got it going after quite a lot of de-rusting. I entered the Suz in the Motorcycle Economy run in 2001. It completed the run but it didn't do well in the standings due to a very strong headwind on the first day.
Due to the nature of my work I was away from home often and one evening in 2002 my wife made a lovely dinner. I thought it was for me going away, but then came the shock: She had a dream the previous night that she was riding a Harley!
One event followed the next and I bought my wife a XL883 Sportster. She went on an advanced ridng course (she rode before) and joined Ladies of Harley and had a lot of fun!
During 2003 we decided to go to the Harley-Davidson 100th anniversary celebrations in Milwaukee. I managed to rent an Electra Glide Classic in Nashville Tennessee through HOG's Fly-and-Ride program. We flew to New York and then on to Nashville to colect the bike. We rode the 600 miles up to Milwaukee in 2 days and camped in Rider's Ranch. We rode another 600 miles or so around Lake Michigan and Milwaukee (HOG 20th birthday celebrations, etc.) After the party on Sunday (we enjoyed Elton John!) we left on the Monday and rode back to Nashville in 2 two days (mostly in the rain) to return the bike. That is one trip we will never forget!