V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just bought a '99 Victory Cruiser with 500 miles on it. Love it, nothin but fun!

Anyone from Ga? Atlanta?

Any local clubs?
Randall

·
Registered
100 Posts
I hope you enjoy your Victory as much I do mine! :D You will find alot more Vic riders in your area on their site at thevmc.com

·
Registered
74 Posts
Congrats on your bike. Hope you get a bunch of good times on it. Is it bone stock or did it come with extras? If it only has 500 miles on it, you basically got a new bike. Hope you got a good price on it.

I run full synthetic in both of my Vics, and extend my oil change intervals out to 5k. Amsoil, which I believe is the company making HDs sythetic oil, is a good choice, as is Royal Purple. You can use a Bosch 3323 oil filter from Auto Zone for about $5 a pop if a dealer isn't handy. It's the only filter I've been using for a couple of years now. Headlights are available at Auto Zone for under $15, but the spark plugs may be harder to find. I'd keep a set handy for one of those cold days that you foul the originals out.

I'd say you're gonna be real pleased with the motor. They are rock soild. You may or may not have tranny issues with a 99, only time will tell. Some folks have many miles on their '99s with nary a problem, some folks have had to have tranny rebuilds. On the first 2 years of production, the 99-00 models, it appears to be a crap shoot. Vic redesigned the offending parts in later years starting with the 01 models so that it is no longer an issue with any 01 or above. Belt changes take about 45 minutes because they designed a piece on the right side of the swing arm that pops right out, thus no need to drop the axle. Brake pads are a breeze, as are oil changes.