V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
3,619 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Been looking to buy a new bike. I have a 1991 Sportster but as a newbie I found it very difficult to ride. Vibration, clutch hard to pull in plus it is top heavy. I know guys like top heavy :) but anyway I passed my motorcycle safety test and got back on the sportster and needed something different as I said before. Went to the Long Beach Convention Center today where they had the new motorcycle show at . Wow got a look at all the bikes. Harley's are just way over priced. I talked to a few guys and mostly girls and they all recommended the Suzuki 650 Savage as a good starter bike. I got a price quote of $3900.00 not bad. I could afford that. What do you think? I just want something I can start out on that I'm comfortable riding then I will bump up. But I'm going to sell the sportster later down the road along with what ever new bike I get as a learner bike and then utlimately settle on something a lot nicer. Any suggestions?

Cheri aka Medicine Woman

·
Registered
22,089 Posts
Haven't heard from you in while Cheri, I think the savage or the yami virago is a great choice. You may not need spend 4k on it the resale is pretty low for these bikes, you should be able to get a used bike with very low miles for about half that. give you some extra cash for chaps

·
Registered
3,619 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks DJW - I the past two months my favorite aunt died have'nt gotten over that one. The company I worked for moved (that took a month) and the latest was my ex died in a freak parachuting accident so I went up to Oregon for that for a week. But I'm back now. And hitting the HD Forum again. I'm going to look into those two bikes. I thought about the yami - Virago. Thanks again.

Cheri - Aka medicine woman

·
FOG
6,970 Posts