V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
354 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
What's a reasonable amount to pay my HD dealer to install new front and back tires, and to repack the wheel bearings with grease at the same time? My bike is a 1998 FLHTC Electra Glide Classic. About how many hours should this job take?

I'm going to ask the dealer tomorrow, I don't mind paying a fair price, but I don't want to go in blind and get ripped either!

Thanks,
OldBoy

·
Registered
1,229 Posts
If you take the wheels off yourself and carry them in, not more than $125 each, including tire disposal, repack and new seals and balancing.

Not sure what they'd charge to remove the tires, but it shouldn't take more than 1/2 hour for both.

·
Premium Member
3,694 Posts
I'm not an expert on shop work but I've certainly had my bikes in a shop often enough to have a feel for the answer to your question. This sort of work should all be by shop hours, which are pretty much standard. My guestimates are: 1 hr.-front tire; 2 hrs.-rear tire; 1 1/2-2 hrs.-repack. If they want to charge you more than 5/6 hrs. of labor, I'd ask why? Hourly rates vary from shop to shop. The tech guys on this Forum probably have the requisite hrs. memorized. I'm taking a educated guess based on experience.

If you coordinate the tire changes with big services, i. e. 10K, you can save a bit of labor time.

Q: why are you repacking the wheel bearings now at not at a major servivce time?

·
Registered
2,300 Posts
Labor for replacing front and rear tires, repack the bearings and balance would be about 3 hours or about $200.00. The problem is the price of tires at the dealers. They often get $150.00 for the same one you can get over the net for $90.00, and the ones you get over the net are usually much fresher. A volume thing.

I take the wheels off, buy the tires over the net, and have them mounted and balanced at the local dirt bike shop for about $20.00 each.