V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,815 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got a 85 FXWG (Pre-Dyna Wide Glide, for the uninitiated).

I got a few parts I'm slapping on her, 16" apes, chrome hand controls, solo seat, lowering the suspension. All fine and good.

HOWEVER.... I want to paint her. No big deal, right? not exactly. The frame is painted dark purple (almost black) to match the metal. Trouble is, when (if) I paint the skins (it wont be purple, I assure you), that purple frame will positively jump out at you. SO, this means a paint job requires a complete tear-down.

I am reluctant to do that. I am a light-weight garage mechanic. I have had the transmission out myself, twice, out of necessity (I'm not exactly a credit-card mechanic) and that went ok. I've done some small mods, and have had the primary off (inner and outer), the rear end disassembled, and re-assembled.

Question is, is this a job a light-weight like me is capable of doing, tearing it down to the frame? Oh sure, its easy to tear down, but I do want to be able to RE-assemble it later, hehe.

·
Knower of Stuff
1,978 Posts
Well the back end and the trans and primary removal has gotten you almost there. Only thing left was the front end, very easy, and motor removal, also very easy.
Your biggest problem may be with the wiring harness. A bike that old has wires with old and stiff insulation and it is easy to crack somtimes. Get some wire ID tags and mark everything as you disconnect it.
Get a digital camera and document everyting as you take it apart and organize everything in plastic storage containers to keep them clean. Keep all the hardware for each part with the part and take your time. Get a note pad and document each bolt location and keep the notes with the parts.
If you do not have the H-D service manual and parts book get them both. The parts book gives good exploded views of everything.
You have gone most of the way already, there is no reason you can not do the entire job.

·