V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Infidel
6,331 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Folks,

I'm a newbie to Harleys, so cherry I'm waiting for my '02 FatBoy to arrive. I'm so excited I don't know how I'm gonna make it til the BIG DAY

While I'm chillin', I'll take a crack at this...

I too had a good family, my parents had five boys. My dad was an enlisted man, my mom was a school secretary. I guess were were poor (lower middle class) but I never new it. We never had alot but never went without...anything important.

After high school, I went to college right away...screwed around and flunked out almost immediately. I worked several different manual labor gigs, for example, I was a hoddie during the day and a bouncer a night (Cheyenne had a cool biker bar in the late 70's, but it went **** up in the early 80's). I worked like a dog but never seemed to get anywhere. Definitely no money for a nice putt.

My defining moment was a cold day in January 1983, we were putting up a stone wall and I was freezing my nutz off. I remember thinking "if I can't cut this when you're 23 how am I gonna cut it when I'm 53?" Light bulb goes on..I go back to school.

So now I'm a 23 year old freshman, I bagged my BS in five years (changed majors once). I earned a PhD in biochemistry in seven years. I'd like to say I paid my own way, but my folks helped as they could, I worked and took student loans to cover the rest.

I did a two year fellowship in Seattle then landed my current job at a major research institution on the east coast. So I got a 9-5 gig. I live in a nice house, I have a nice truck, the IRS *loves* me.

Best day of my life..Oct 9, 1994, the day I got married.

Worse day of my life.. Dec 27, 1997..my baby brother was murdered by a crack dealer. I'm not ever getting over that one.

So that its it. Some may call me a RUB but those dudes don't know me, they don't know sh*t about me. You do.

Regards,

Wyodude