V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Premium Member
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All!,

My story is pretty much the same as everyone elses.
I started riding in 1977 on a Suzuki TS75 after I got comfortable with riding, I moved up to a DS100 in 1979, then back down to a moped in 1981 so I could "ride" to school. When I got my DL in 1981 I bought a 1981 Kawasaki KZ550LTD. From that point forward I really began to enjoy street riding. A year later I moved up to a '82 Yamaha 750 Maxim. At that point I really started to notice harley, but could never afford one. So, until I enlisted in the AirForce, I rode my maxim whenever I could. From 1987 to 1998 I only rode a bike a few times, never lost the deisre to have one again, just didn't find "Just what I wanted". Finally, in 2002 started really looking at HD. In Dec of 2002, my dream bike came in to my local dealer. A 2003 HD SuperGlide. I was called and told that the FXD had arrived, so I went to the dealer and saw the crate.... So much for seeing it. I wanted to put a down payment foer the bike but the dealer told me since it is not entered into the computer e can't take a deposit. So I settled for thumbing through the acc. catalog. A few minutes later the owner walked by and asked If I needed some help. I told him "sure" get that FXd loaded in the computer so I could put a down payment on it. He chuckled, and said, "Its in, I just finished entering it" so out comes the checkbook and I become the proud owner of a 2003 Gunmetal Pearl FXD. During that 1st year I only out on about 5k mikes, but in the summer of 2004 I got the urge to move up. So off to the dealer I go. First thing I saw was a 2005 FLHT in Chopper Blue. Thats my bike. So I put the FXD up for sale and within 2 days it was gone. Next day I rented an Ultra Classic for the weekend. On the ride the wife and I rode to the shop and ended up putting money down on the 05 Electra Glide. I dropped the rental off on Monday and rode the new one home. I was