V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
There is a tremendous amount of incredible information on this [email protected]: BUT with that being said I use it as a source of entertainment as much as information. I have found the answers to many questions on here. Like codes that flash across when there is a problem with the bike. I printed off a wonderful list. Fixed the problem myself and saved myself a ton of money not to mention hours at a stealership waiting for a diagnosis that I can do myself. Now the problem comes if any one out there places a lot of strength on the type of oil used from the polls on here. Usually, now not always, most of those using these web forums have a problem or are trying to find an answer and are a strict do-it-yourselfer. I praise anyone that works on their own bike, provided they have the time. Now I am not trying to step on toes, I have no clue which oil is the best to use. But But But as a pharmacist I read multiple clinical journals looking at clinical trials trying to wade thru the bullshittt that is reported. Many times a great in statistics can crunch numbers and prove anything. One of the most important things to look for in clinical trials for drugs is the reporting of relative versus absolute risk reduction. Absolute is much more important to know. I say this because i use the same school of thought in pharmacy that I do in motorcycles. Reporting data is reporting data. Now if you only have 2000 documented cases of a particular disease to test a new drug on then thats all you have. BUT there are millions of air cooled V-twins out there either S&S or Harley alone. Now there is no way to draw conclusions that most are using AMSOIL or Mobil 1 or whatever when only 2000 or less have participated in the survey. The numbers are too low. We need at least 20,000 or 50,000 would be even better. I would bet that 90 percent of all those using Syn3 arent reporting on here, even those using regular