V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Rubber Side Down!
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All,

Looking for some expert guidance on steps I can take to improve my 2006 Ultra Classic - SE103. Bike was purchased new off the showroom floor with the 29877-06 SE103 kit, SERT and V&H ovals installed. Through several iterations of tunings and pipe changes, I finally selected the D&D Fatcat. Through the first year, I had many troubles with pinging and the motor running hot. The dealer I purchased from covered these efforts under warranty, but in my opinion did not have a good tech who really knew how to properly tune to solve these issues. The bike now has 9500 miles and I am running SYN3 for what it's worth.

Eventually, they "detuned" the bike, throwing a lot of fuel at the problem and called it good. I have always felt that the bike has never run properly, but I am not experienced to know well enough.

We moved to TN recently and I had the local Knoxville dealer have a look. They recommended changing the injectors(TSB on 2006 models?) and retune. I had them go ahead with the work. Other than some minor popping on decel(2500-2900rpm) and subtle surging below 2500, the bike runs better than I remember since it was new. Pinging is all but gone with 93 octane. However, to me it still feels sluggish at lower(<2500) RPM. Additionally, the motor is exhibiting more valve train "like" noise - much more than any 96 or 88 I have heard with similar mileage. Used to have an '05 Heritage TC88B that was quiet as any I have heard. The dealer tells me this motor likes to run above 3K RPM and sounds "normal" - go figure.

The bike is covered under the HD extended warranty for another 2 years. However, i would like to see if there are changes that can be made to improve the ridability. My original desire with the bigger motor was to handle the typical weight of touring with "2 up". I figured some extra power would be nice, but not if I have to operate at 4K to get it!