V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
I have no experience with 880's on a Dresser yet. I have owned and riden a 86 Heritage Softail for 160,000 miles with Metzlers for at least 100,000 of those miles. My opinion and only my opinion they beat the Dunlops hands down. Have not run anything new than the 402's though. Bought a new Ultra Classic in 11/07 and when I wear out these Dunlops I will be putting on Metzlers. Everyone likes their own tire according to their riding style and mileage to me takes a second seat to handling. Buy what you like and not what your buddy does - he does not ride your bike.

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've posted this question on three different forums thus far. Not one FLHTCI owner has piped up. All the responses have been positive but for bike 1/3 lighter than my semi. I'm looking for milage,

·
Registered
13,060 Posts
Metzlers do not wear well, you will be lucky to get 7-8 k on them. you also have to check the load rating, i know that they fall short with the 16 150s, theyor not for two up.

·
Registered
238 Posts
I got about the same mileage out of the Dunlops as the Metzelers. The Metzelers are a far superior tire for handling. I had an 04 FLHTC and changed the back tire every 8k and front every 16K. When you make the switch you will notice a difference immediately. I recommend them over Dunlop everytime

·
Forgetter of Things
2,651 Posts
Dunlop Elite 3's...

same characteristics as the 880's...but longer life...a friend got over 12k on his rear tire...

jus' sayin'...

·
Registered
13,060 Posts
I like Avon tires. Metzler motorcycle tires are not manufactured in Germany anymore. Ther have been sizing problems in some casings and are made in Brazil.

·
<><
3,961 Posts
Dunlop Elite 3's...

same characteristics as the 880's...but longer life...a friend got over 12k on his rear tire...

jus' sayin'...