V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any thoughts on how to make a a stock dyna glide quieter?

(I know, I know... most want to make it depper and louder... please bear with me.)

·
Traveling Man
1,272 Posts
davidh4976, that's a new one for sure. With the stock exhaust I'm not sure that there is much that you can do. They are already pretty quiet and restrictive. I know that with aftermarket mufflers/pipes with removable baffles that you can wrap them with fiberglass packing that will mellow them out some or replace with a smaller inside diameter baffles that will quiet them down but restrict them more. Are you trying to sneak out of town or something?:D . Just kidding.

Oh, and welcome to the forum!!

·
Registered
9 Posts
FifthGear, hi, another newbie here. I have V&H Short Shots on my FXDS which look great but are hellishly loud. Does what you are saying mean that if I remove the internal baffles, wrap them in baffle wrap and put them back a) it won't affect the engine at all, b) it might drop the noise level a tad, and c) I won't be blowing trails of fibreglass out the back every trip?

Any thoughts would be most welcome. Just waiting for the English rain to reduce a bit before getting back out there.

PS Sorry davidh4976 for temporarily hijacking your thread :D

·
Traveling Man
1,272 Posts
Ogri98 said:
FifthGear, hi, another newbie here. I have V&H Short Shots on my FXDS which look great but are hellishly loud. Does what you are saying mean that if I remove the internal baffles, wrap them in baffle wrap and put them back a) it won't affect the engine at all, b) it might drop the noise level a tad, and c) I won't be blowing trails of fibreglass out the back every trip?

Any thoughts would be most welcome. Just waiting for the English rain to reduce a bit before getting back out there.

PS Sorry davidh4976 for temporarily hijacking your thread :D