V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Nukes flown cross country
That's a fairly unbiased version of the story. I actually read a news blog that blamed this on Bush's intelligence.

I load bombs for a living but have only loaded practice nukes a few times. At work we were talking about how this could happen. I wanted to let you guys know what we came up with before anyone calls us morons or blames this on the current administration. This is a lot of speculation but it comes from many decades of combined expierence.

The ACMs (those missiles in question) come in two styles, real and neon orange. Neon orange being fake. The real ones have NO visual designation that says if it's got a nuclear warhead or a practice one. The ACMs were put onto a pylon at a preload facility, then mounted to the jet by a load crew. Somehow (cough AMMO cough) the warheads were still in the missiles that I'm pretty sure were being sent to LA to be decomissioned.

The big question comes when the Strategic Arms Reduction Treaty is brought up. I know some about the treaty but tomorrow I'm going to look into wether it was violated by what happened. I think it was but I need to re-read the letter of the law. If this had happend during or shortly after the G8 summit it could have been worse. It'll be interesting to see how the rest of the world reacts.

Fear not, no one was ever in any danger. These nukes take more to detonate than you would imagine.

·
Live Free or Die
8,686 Posts
Well you're gonna piss a lot of people off if you say they can't blame Bush since there's quite a few around here that directly tie the President to ANY problem this country faces. It's just easier that way because it requires less brain power than to explore other possibilities.

This statement has been brought to you by a voter who DID NOT vote for President Bush in the 2004 election.

·
EASY DOES IT
8,914 Posts