Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i finnally had hippo help me to respond to your group i am not good at
computers.i have been in the motorcycle industry for 38 years and
have been an instuctor years ago at MMI. i own a sunnen machine shop
this is the same equipment that harley factory uses in there engine
rebuilding department.one of my part-time employees is a retired
genral motors enginneer worked on vortec head project.he also spent
a week at joe mondellos school of cylinder head porting. we spent
over 6 week and are still updating tc88 and evo cylinder heads.
we developed the vortec heads for tc88 and evo engines.a vortec
is designed to increase torque which i feel harley engines need.it
was hard at first to weld up an intake port and increase air flow-
but it happens. besides increasing air flow it really increases air
velocity. i feel that harley is on the right track with there httc heads
but disagree on combustion chamber design,we all have our opions.
there cnc heads are pretty i have seen but have not got to flow test as of yet.they did not cnc the combusttion chambers. i will keep this board posted when we do.i believe in mild cams and10.1/1 compression ratios
my objective is to build torque engines.if there is question feel free to ask
be patient some times to get back to you.
thanks short-block charlie

·
Registered
2,300 Posts
Like everything else it is debatable. We do not polish the chambers or the exhaust port as we have not been able to see any significant gains from it on street kits and it would just drive the price up.

If you want to get fancy the way to actually go is with thermal barrier coatings.

·
Registered
1,496 Posts
Hippo its been around for years (my background is with cars) that the best thing a polished chamber gives you (for high CR applactions) is less pointed edges for "hot spots" to start up that could lead to preinigiton. Is this not the case with Harleys?

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·