V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
598 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, I'm the first to admit it. I'm a newbie :D I've ,road *** Traps for a long time and now have stepped up to the plate and have a Harley on oder. ;) I watch ALL the shows I can on Harleys and read as much as I can (So I don't look stupid) :D Here is my question: All these "kit" bikes are not Harley's are they? What I mean is I went to a Harley for a lot of reasons #1 Resale is awsome! There are a bunch more too! :) Now I look at some of thee bike makers and they are running S&S engines and Rev Tech too. Now, these aren't Harleys, are they? Will their resale be as good as a Harley? Or is it one of those "It's worth what a person will pay" type deal? :confused: Okay, I'm done.............. For now :D

·
Registered
1,061 Posts
No they are definatly not harleys if they do not have a Harley motor in them. Everything else depends on what state you live in(to legally be titled as a harley). IMHO They are not Harleys. I do like the look of the S&S Motor though, Especally on the Chiefs.

·
Registered
413 Posts
They aint harleys. You get (IMO) more bike for the money from certain kit bikes (more chrome, more power, more of a "custom" look...), however, you lose the resale, and it won't be quite as easy when it comes to insuring it in some cases.

·
Registered
598 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for getting back to me! :) I feel a little better now, some of those "kit" bikes are VERY cool looking :D I just wasn't to sure :confused:

·
Registered
312 Posts
The DMV will be a fight to in some states.

·
Registered
7 Posts
kit bikes