V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,559 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I suspect this is a naive question, but the owner's manual on my new 02 King says use ONLY HD brand oil. To emphasize this it then suggests using Diesel oil if in a pinch, implying normal automotive oils are out of the question. Is this bullshit or should I use only the HD brand (bike is about a quart low with 850 miles and am planning a 500 mile trip this weekend (b4 the"1000" mile service, which dealer said was OK). I have several other bikes and haven't seen this issue b4.

thx, greg

·
Registered
686 Posts
why you have opened up a whole can of worms, you will get all kinds of advice on oil, I am no expert on oil. but I have always used the manufactures oil I don't care if it was Mercury, Ski doo, Honda , Harley etc, you get my drift, and I have never had any engine problems, I also change my oil and filter on a bike every 2-3 k. I used to go on a Honda site where some people where praising synthetic oil, it turns out it was making peoples clutch slip, the honda used the same oil in the clutch as the engine, I asked my Harley service manager about synthetic and he said no. I don't see why a manufacturer would recommend an oil unless they did some reasearch on it , thats my two cents, I am sure there are people who know a lot more about oil than I do.

·
Premium Member
37 Posts
I am assuming that you mean is HD brand oil required to keep from voiding the warranty and the answer is no, Fed law says the only way they can require you to use a specific brand of oil or parts is if they supply them at no charge. Everybody has their own opinion on the best oil, my advise is to use the best available and change it often. I change at 2500 and sometimes sooner if the oil gets moisture (white foam) or gas (smell)
or looks dirty. Dave

·
Registered
2,300 Posts