V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Probably a newbie question and I did a search on the forum and couldn't find an answer. Working on a 2006 Ultra Classic flhtcui that had rough idle, missing and backfiring on the high end. Would also die at idle sometimes. Planning to replace fuel filter, fuel lines, spark plugs, plug wires and intake seal (and new Map sensor). Bike has 62k miles and I figured while I was in there I would replace all i could within a budget. While tearing down I considered replace the coil as well but was trying to test to see if it was faulty. Service Manual indicated secondary resistance @ 2500 to 3500 ohms. I'm testing from one terminal to the other as in attached pic and getting a reading of 6.3 ohms at setting of 20k. Again I'm a newbie but I think this is 6300 ohms which would be out of range for spec OR am I doing this all wrong.

·
Registered
191 Posts
I am not sure but every coil I have ever measured was reading from the coil to common, not across the two outputs as your picture indicates.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks 01Ron. I "believe" I can test secondary resistance with the coil "off bike" based on some research and video I've viewed. Not sure how accurate it was that's how they did it . I did find more that adds more confusion. My service manual for my 2006 FLHTCUI has two sections listed for resistance specs. I attached two pics from the manual to show. The first pic is from the service manual and is for a carb'ed ultra (5500-7500 ohms) and my resistance (6.30 or 6300) falls inline with that spec. However, the second pic is for an EFI model and specs says (2500 to 3500) which I'm out of spec. My Ultra is in fact an EFI so not sure if i'm having a coil issue or if I'm OK. I hate to drop $105 for a new one if its Ok. Thanks!

CARB

EFI

·
Registered
191 Posts