V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just installed the Kuryakyn hypercharger on my 01 wide glide. Very pleased with the looks and performance, but I am getting some oil /gas blowing out of the rear of the hypercharger. The oil is not over filled and the gas smell is minor, mainly after cold start up. I've been told this is common with the hypercharger and can't do anything about it. (?)
Also will the Kuryakyn crankcase breather #9918 solve the problem?

Your right, I am NOT a mechanic!
Any input is appreciated.

·
Registered
159 Posts
No Leak...

LVFXDWG,

I wish I could help Bro, but I think someone is pulling mightily upon your leg. I have a Hypercharger on my 00 FLSTF, installed in 00, and have never had a drop of fuel or oil come out of it. Maybe someone else can offer some insight into this.

·
Premium Member
1,552 Posts
Re: Leaky Kury...

LVFXDWG,

The element in KuryAkyn Hyperchargers is a K&N oiled gauze filter. The element may initially drip some residual oil when new. You didn't mention what type of head breather you're running. I've been running a Kury with a Screamin' Eagle breather manifold plumbed into the aluminum carb throat spacer with a 3/8" line on my '99 FXDX for over two years now with no spewage problems.

Until...

Ever since I had the motor bumped to 95" hi. comp. w/radical cams and SE heads last fall I've noticed a very slight oil mist residue on the side of the bike from the filter rearward. It's so slight that it blends with the usual road grime and comes out in the wash so to speak. This condition (in my case) is most likely caused by the overlap of the hot cams causing carb reversion.