V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a windshild I would like to cut .I would like to do this only once and the wright way. So any ideas... I assume i need to cut it than finish it ??

Thank all

·
Registered
41 Posts
I'm no pro but I've been both a mechanic and a carpenter so I did cut my own windsheild down a couple months ago because it drove me crazy having to look through it. It's fairly easy to do, here's what I did:
1. sat on the bike to detrmine where I wanted the hieght to be and just made a dot with a sharpy at this point.
2. Used masking tape to cover the entire outside upper part of the windsheild so I could draw the cut-line on it and also protect the windsheild while cutting. I used a carpenters compass to produce a line for the top edge and maintain the original curvature and then used a gallon paint can as a template to feather out the sides. Drawing some vertical and horizontal lines on the tape also helped in double checking that I doing each half the same.
3.I used about a 24 tpi metal cutting blade in my jig-saw and first made a cut from the outside edge at the top center in towards and stopping at my cut line. This resulted in having two peices to cut off from each half which I thought would reduce the chance of cracking. Something else that worked well was placing the sheild on abunch of towels placed on the big plastic trash can in the garage. Tip: use a variable speed jig-saw and keep the speed down and take your time.
4.Once you've done the cut, take a fine file and sort of bevel the edges so they won't be so sharp.
5. Remove the masking tape and your all set. Discovered that masking tape works great at removing that hazey stuff from your windsheild.
Took me about a 1/2 hour to do this, 20 minutes to lay it out and double check then about ten minutes cutting and filing the edges.