V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
'97 flhtci I am replacing studs because a couple of them are pulling out of the cases. I've never used helicoils before and it looks like I can stack 2 of them to get enough threads for the studs. I'm wondering how to break the tab that is used to screw the threads in and not have it go into the bottom of the engine being as the holes go clear through the cases.

·
Registered
2004 FLSTCI, 1993 FXDL
1,019 Posts
There is a longer helicoil made just for head bolts but I'm not sure I'd use it. I believe they still stack. Google that up and see what they say.

·
Super Moderator
21,902 Posts
Helicoils are not recommended for repairing those stud holes. Drilling the hole out weakens the case, and the coils don't add any strength back to the repair.

Time Cert sells a kit(s) for fixing those threads. It's a set of thin wall inserts in the length your case requires as well as the tools to install them in the case.

Time Cert

With that said, you still need to be able to keep the hole parallel to the spigot bore. If it ends up off center or crooked, the corner can crack from the stress induced. Jims makes a tool for drilling them free hand, and many indies can do it in their mills using the spigot boring jigs.

Jims stud repair jig

Camera accessory Audio equipment Home theater system Font Cylinder

·
Registered
103 Posts
You can use the old studs at least two or three times. Yes, they stretch. Ive personally done several builds using the old studs with no head gasket failures so far. Just oil the threads and the bottoms of the bolt flanges so you wont get a false torque reading. Now, since youre removing em to repair damaged case threads, why not get new studs, of course.

·
Super Moderator
21,902 Posts