V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Could you please share your experience with me, what happened when you started riding ? Something funny or unforgettable?
I started riding at 10 years old, I got my first bike from my elder brother.:clap:

·
Banned
2,449 Posts
I started riding about 10 but it was ironic since my first bike was a Harley. My brother and 2 friends and I all bought new Harley minibikes, X-90 I think it was called, for $199 brand new. When they ran good they were a lot of fun to ride, but when they didn't it seemed like it cost more than $199 to have it serviced.

After many expensive repair bills I sold it and bought a Suzuki RM125 which wasn't a whole lot better than the Harley. I eventually sold that and bought a water cooled Yamaha YZ250 and I still have it to this day. I'll always have a dirt bike as long as I'm able to ride, since they are a lot more fun than riding on the street.

·
Registered
594 Posts
9. Arctic Cat mini bike on Christmas morning. Pulled the cord, it fired up shot across the room, hit the couch and filled the living room with 2 stroke smoke. next thing I heard was "get that damn thing outside" I've been hooked for 41 years.

·
Banned
6,957 Posts
It was the mid 60's and I was about 19 or 20 when I rented a dirt bike with my cousin. These were Japanese machines about 80cc. I started reading motorcycle magazines and the next year, 1967, I bought a new Suzuki X6 Hustler.

I remember from my first ride on those rented bikes with my cousin that this was right for me. There was something that seemed to all fall into place. When I got my Suzuki, I couldn't stop riding it. The following summer I did a cross country trip on the 250cc Suzuki. Now that is another story and was quite an experience.

·
Registered
87 Posts