V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2003 FXDL that I bought new in January 2004. The bike doesn't turn over like a champ anymore. Is two years of battery life about right? I'm in So Cal so the longest the bike has ever gone without a ride is one week...10 days tops. :bleh: I checked the cables and everything is clean and tight. With a multimeter, how would I check if the battery is still strong? I'm not good with multimeters so explain it to me slowly.

Thanks

·
Infidel
1,428 Posts
If you keep it charged it should stay good for 4-5 years...but there's a lot of variables involved and heat is your enemy.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Stock battery on my '01 fxdwg is still going strong. Never on a tender and never sits longer than a week without riding, all year 'round.~!Awesome!

·
XLIII
10,078 Posts
How long are most of your rides?
If it's mostly to the corner pub and back, it's never getting fully charged after the drain of starting that pig.
If it gets to stretch its legs a lot, then I dunno...

·
Registered
1,799 Posts
If the bike is ridden weekly and at a decent clip each ride, the battery very well could go 4 years or more.
If the bike sits more than a week just put a battery tender on it and your good to go.

·
Registered
22 Posts
MegaGlide said:
How long are most of your rides?
If it's mostly to the corner pub and back, it's never getting fully charged after the drain of starting that pig.
If it gets to stretch its legs a lot, then I dunno...