V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i'm leaving on a 5k mile 2 week road trip in a few months and am gearing up my glide for the trip... i installed the rider back rest this weekend and am trying to decide where and how to mount the hiway pegs... so i need your guys help...i'm 5'10" riding an 01 flhtcui with a stock seat...thanks in advance SFB:hmmm:

·
Ridin' with the King
1,352 Posts
I mounted mine on.....Ebay! After a couple of close calls I had with feet up on the HW pegs I decided to take them off. If you use them be aware that it will slow your reaction time considerably if you have to stop quickly. And no I am not a newbie. I have been riding for over 20 years on the street and I know how to stop. If I didn't, I probably wouldn't be here. My 2c.

·
Registered
206 Posts
Put 'em on snug, then sit on your bike and see how they feel, move 'em around some and see what's the most comfortable. It's all subjective to the individual. FWIW I have mine as far down the highway bar as they'll go, so I can ride with my legs stretched out. Frankencat is right too, it naturally slows the reaction time. Oh well, cay sera sera. (sp?)

·
Registered
404 Posts
Hate having my feet sit up high. Moved my pegs to the lowest point possible on the crash bar. Gives me a lot more more control of the bike.
Plus, you don't wind up looking like your going for some type of horrible medical exam with your feet stuck up in the air. If you have problems reaching your pegs at the lowest point on the bar, they make offsets and extenders to get you to a comfortable spot.

Everyone has there own .02 on pegs. My .02 is they are a must for me, I am on them 100% of the time and only use my floorboards to shift or hit the rear brake.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
thanks for the cautions and info guys...can yall tell me the brand and or name of the pegs and or mounts you use...

·
Registered
206 Posts