V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Premium Member
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was warming up by Fatboy this afternoon, letting the bike run at idle for about 20 minutes. I came back into the garage and both pipes were red hot. All the way from the engine to the cross over valve where the pipes come together. It was so hot that the chrome covers discolored. Any idea why this happened and what I can do to fix it? Thanks for the suggestions!

·
Who? Me?
187 Posts
I am not an expert, but IMHO 20 minutes is too long to let an air cooled engine idle.

·
Banned
1,636 Posts
I'm no engineer, but I don't think it's a good idea to let these aircooled TC engines idle for 20 mins. If you want to warm it up, one min is enough.

·
Premium Member
3,289 Posts
You can fry the engine by letting the bike idle that long. Other than that, warming up the engine during winter break is a bad idea as you never heat up enough to burn off vapor, acids and other nasty stuff that you produce during warm up. Do a search for 'winterize' or the like and you find some interesting views.

Good luck

·
Banned
21,644 Posts
Were you going riding or justing starting it up? As said, don't start a bike in the winter just to start it. Causes moisture to form. I to agree 20 mins seems like a long time. Obviouly it was if the pipes turned red.

·
Banned
2,735 Posts
Sorry...but I won't even comment on this one cause I might get barred. Smart enough to buy a Fatboy but...................

·
Premium Member
378 Posts
dlorenzn said:
I was warming up by Fatboy this afternoon, letting the bike run at idle for about 20 minutes. I came back into the garage and both pipes were red hot. All the way from the engine to the cross over valve where the pipes come together. It was so hot that the chrome covers discolored. Any idea why this happened and what I can do to fix it? Thanks for the suggestions!