V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
HELP !!!Anybody know how to remove the inner fork "guts" by removing the bolt located at the very bottom of the fork. When I try to loosen this bolt it just turns the inside damper tube. 1981 Sportster with Showa 38mm forks.:confused:

·
Traveling Man
1,272 Posts
pruitt said:
HELP !!!Anybody know how to remove the inner fork "guts" by removing the bolt located at the very bottom of the fork. When I try to loosen this bolt it just turns the inside damper tube. 1981 Sportster with Showa 38mm forks.:confused:
Well pruitt, I'm no expert and I'll presume that the 1981 showa forks are simular to the later ones. They say that an impact wrench may be required for that sudden torque to brake the bolt loose. I have had success by using an allen wrench with a pair of vise grips attached and giving it sudden jerks. (I'm guessing that yours is an allenhead also). I think that your tubes are 35MM aren't they? Maybe someone else can guide you better than me.

Later,

·
WFO
14 Posts
Go to your local Honda dealership (since Honda Owns Showa) and they will give you the skinney.
Harley forks are pretty primative in todays world of suspension, but Showa makes some of the best!

D

·
Premium Member
395 Posts
It's not on there that tight,it's just that the damper tube has a tendency to spin with the bolt.It's not impact or the torque that loosens it , it's the sudden thrust of the airgun and the inertia of the damper tube that spins it free. You could try sticking a broom stick down in the tubes to keep it from spinning but i had no luck with that and finally took the legs to the service dept. They might do it for free.If you're trying yourself,make sure you're using a metric allen . i think it's 6mm can't recall.

·
Registered
483 Posts