V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. My name is Howard and I live in NY. I am 26 and wanted a Harley since I started riding bikes when I was like 5. My dad had a Harley and that made me want one even more. When I turned 22 I tried to build my own form scratch. Peice by peice it was a 1961 Ironhead 900. 3 Years later I completed it. I took it over to get an inspection so I could get it a registration since it was a part together and I didnt have one. Well the cases came back stolen. They where stollen in 1975 in California. I said damn that was before I was even born. So I lost the bike. Now I am back to window shoping and driving stupipd *** bikes. I just had a baby 2 weeks ago and have no money. So it was looking grim for me. Well than a little luck came my way and just out of the blue I met an older man in is 60's. He was riding a Harley and we started chating about bikes. So he tells me he has a dirtbike needs repair so I say sure I will help you. Then he needed a oil change, tire rotation, and a starter in his car. So after I did all that he said come see what I think you would apreshiate. Well I walk in his barn and he says she hasent been running in 4 years and hasent been registered since 1986. But I have the title he says. He says I will tell you what if you come change my oil for me when I need it it is yours. No aditional money needed. I almost passed out. I dont even have to buy the oil I just have to put it in. So I brought her home and my dreams came true. I got her running today very easily. Here she is 1983 XLH 1000 with 5600 little miles on it. Sorry for being so long winded but I just had to tell the story. :Banadance

·
natural-born world-shaker
2,978 Posts
Welcome to the forum GoldFever.

You may have been lucky to run into the guy but you made your own luck from there on - good for you. Now ya got a HD AND a new baby - you are a fortunate man.

·
fourty three and seven...
3,465 Posts