V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Wow, this is my first time doing this sort of thing. I've been reading all sorts of posts, and this seems like a cool forum.

My name is Don I haven't had a scooter in years. My dad past away due to cancer in October, and my best memories were riding with him. He had built a chopper in the late 70's and in '81 I got to ride it next to him, at the age of 16 to Sturgis. Him on his FLHE Heritage, and me on the chop. An experience of a life time. In '83 he bought me a FXR for graduation, cause he was worried I'd kill myself on the chopper. In between then and now life happened, I was in the military for 10 years, and now work for one of the big railroads as a locomotive engineer, aka hog head.

Anyway, I just ordered an '06 Softail Springer Classic, and it won't be here until sometime in April. Needless to say I'm a bit restless, having a hard time getting to sleep, buying scooter mags, and surfing web looking at parts and other scooters. My girlfriend says I'm acting like an expecting father. The waiting part sucks. I wanted to buy this bike last year when it came out, for my 40th, but dad was getting worse all the time so I held off. I sure miss my pop's, I think once I get back into the wind, he will be with me in spirit. Take care all, see ya on the road soon.

Later all,

Don

:chopper:

·
Premium Member
730 Posts
Welcome! I was stationed at the old George AFB from 1986 - 1988. I worked at the Munitions Storage Area, which is now the prison. While TDY at Nellis, I did a fly and ride and took a visit to Victorville in 2003. Relived some memories while I cruised through George!

·
Registered
11 Posts
I was also stationed at George from 1968-1970. I flew in the back seat of F4s as a Tow Reel operator. Great memories.

·
Infidel
6,331 Posts
RaiL_TrasH said:
Wow, this is my first time doing this sort of thing. I've been reading all sorts of posts, and this seems like a cool forum.