V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Winter SUCKS
1,353 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. I am fairly new to this Forum, but have been “floating around in here” for a while. I have found it EXTREMELY interesting, helpful, and a lot of fun! There sure are some SUPER people in here!

I live in Ontario, Canada (just across from Port Huron, Michigan). I'm a Federal Law Enforcement Officer and have served 26 great years in my career. I went through a *nasty* divorce about 6 years ago, and was fortunate enough to have obtained custody of my 3 children - who are now 13,15, and 17.

I re-married 4 years ago to an ABSOLUTE WONDERFUL woman, and we had a baby girl (Julia May), born January 7, 2004. Unfortunately and sadly enough, Baby Julia was diagnosed with Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia in August of 2004 at a mere age of 7 months. She remains a fighter, and survived months of intensive chemotherapy. After many months of failing remission, Baby Julia finally achieved remission on December 26, 2004. In anticipation of this, she had already been placed as a high priority on the world wide bone marrow list. On December 29th, 2004, (3 days after reaching remission) a match was found! Her Transplant occurred March 10, 2005 at Sick Kids Hospital in Toronto, Ontario. So far, she is doing fine, and has recently celebrated her 2nd birthday - at home! She is truly a success story, as her specific cancer effects 10 infants in 1 million, with the survival rate of 1 in a million. She has been the main topic discussion at many Oncology studies across the world. You can read all about Baby Julia and her story on her own website:

http://www.caringbridge.org\canada\julia