V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time using Leather Dressing on my RKC Bags. I am using the official Harley brand and have applied it liberally to all leather surfaces on the bags. The directions per the top of the tub are: "Apply, let penetrate, buff dry".

Ok.. so I applied and am currently letting it penetrate, my question is how long should I let it penetrate before I begin my buffing. So far it has been on the bags for about 3 hours in a "warm" room probably 75 degrees or so.

Anyone have any idea on how long to let it sit? Can it sit too long? Sorry newbie here.. any suggestions would be appreciated... Thanks..

·
Premium octane member
7,381 Posts
3 hours. I leave it on for 5-10 minutes and it works really well.It may be time to take it off. Try a spot and see what happens.

·
Registered
1,799 Posts
I don't think it could really 'sit' too long and cause any problems. It will penetrate very well if left in sunlight for 10 - 15 minutes on a warm day.

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you for the feedback.. I wiped em down.. they look nice and shiny black again! I put em back in the "warm" room to see if the will soak anything else up...

With the waxing of my bike the other day.. and the new leathers.. we are ready for this year of riding.. if only the rain would stop now...

·
Registered
454 Posts
Roseville?

Jimcampo - you're right up the road from me. It'll be nice when this freakin' 6 week non stop rainfest ends! Gonna be GREEN out there this spring!

·
Registered
640 Posts
On the other side of the mountains, gonna be alot of bugs also.
Hope to ride my new FLTRI over this weekend from Sac HD. Think I'll need chains over I-80?

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
OrangeTJ - Ya.. I am up in Roseville... whereabouts are you? Its always nice to meet people that are close to ya...