V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Very good comments folks. (see harley or Indian thread) In fact almost dead on to what I expected. I put the email out there at the urging of my neighbor. He is a long time Harley guy who also rented a Fatboy with me in Arizona. Oddly enough he had many of the same comments I did about the new Harleys. The question he had would other Harley owners notice the difference and see how things seemed to be converging with the *** bikes. My friend argued that the Harley group was a fiercely loyal bunch of guys who could not be fooled. You all certainly proved that with you comments. Good for you!

I told you all that I was an engineer. I am also the president of a 100 million dollar company and would kill for the type of brand loyalty you guys have. From a business point of view Harley has done some unbelievable things. Not only have they commanded a premium price (economics 101 supply and demand) for their bikes they have also created a frenzy around the purchase of clothing and accessories. This is actually an old marketing trick used by companies like Disney and makes a boatload of money. Believe me the Harley guys are doing it right! All companies are about making money and anyone who thinks otherwise is a fool.

So what is my point? I think the Harley crowd needs to start practicing some tough love. I think there was only one comment that gave Indian any credit at all. I understand the comments about me. I loved the one about my lack of character. Given what I do for a living that’s pretty funny. Anyway, there are a lot of great bikes coming out on the market today. Indian, Big Dog and Henderson just to name a few. The Japs are coming along as well. This is some truly nice stuff. Harley is included in that mix. Just look at the V-Rod. Now that’s a bike designed to take market share! Sorry Harley purists but you business sense is for ****.