V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Banned
5,329 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to motorcycles. I bought a 2005 Sportster and Im reading the part of the manual that speaks to washing your bike. Here is a direct quote from the 2005 Owner's Manual, directly under a WARNING symbol; " Do not let the breaks, engine, mufflers or air cleaner to get wet when washing your motorcycle." Found on page 151 of the Sportster Model manual. :beatdh:
Ill be darned. Ill throw open the hood of my car anytime and hose the motor down. Unless its a hot motor. Something here Im not understanding. I can see not wetting the break surfaces with soap or such, and not spraying water down the air cleaner but Im figuring that one needs to clean those piston jugs with a spray of water to clean the fins out. Especially if you have thrown mud up from the front wheel. I must be making more of this than needs to be. Would someone or more of yall tell me how to best clean off a bike. Cant you just take a cold bike and spray it down? I bought Sunwash, Harley Spray Cleaner, Bug remover and Gloss. Wheel and tire cleaner too.

·
XLIII
10,078 Posts
Use a flood, not a spray. Get it all wet, wash it, rinse the same way. Dry it, ride it, then hit it w/ the Harley Gloss to get the water spots from where the water blew out of the nooks and crannies. Actually agitate the cleaner on the wheels, if they are cast alum, they will pit unless agressively cleaned

·
Banned
2,149 Posts
I have been drowning my bikes in water (all makes) for over 30 years. I do wrap a plastic bag around the leather pouch on my front forks, but that's about it.

I really soap it up after it has been drenched to first loosen grit. This avoids scratching. I set the nozzle on a fine mist and then rinse the bike really good, checking cracks for soap, like around the glass in mirrors.

Then I thoroughly dry the bike, starting with a high-power leaf blower. I chrome polish first, then finish with wax and glass cleaners.