V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Haven't seen much about new Heritages here in the forum so I'll throw out my less than two cents..

Picked up my new 08 Heritage on 9/21 and just turned over 500 miles. Due to my profession I work 7 days a week most of the year so miles for me will fluctuate quite a bit through the seasons.
So far everything seems fine, but keep in mind I am a newbie.
I definitely had annoying noise in fifth gear until about 350-400 miles. Did not change any oil though in the tranny and it has quietd significantly in the last 100 miles.
Despite being a newbie I've ridden about 30 miles in a decent rain at night, bike handled great, no problems at all.
Haven't had it above 60, much, due to the break-in period I've been warned about. Changing oil and filter this weekend with Harley 360 for now because the oil debate has my mind swimming!
25% of the miles are in-town to and from work.
25% of the miles on a few 30-50 mile trips throughthe mountains of Northeatern PA.
25% of the miles on Route 78, major Interstate that I ride into NJ once in awhile.
Remaining miles were 15-30 mile runs showin off the bike to friends...
Yes, I did have the standard newbie boot burn marks on the pipes though goo-gone followed by over cleaner swiped it right off, thanks for the posts BTW.
Didn't realize how loud of a CLUNK these bikes make when they start but either it's gotten quiter or I've gotten used to it. Don't actually mind it at all as long as I know it's normal. From other posts I see that it is.

Only minor gripe is that when rpms get up to about 3000 (that's a guess) I get an annoying plastic-type rattle somewhere up front in tank/handlbar area, tried leaning on parts(speedo,windshield,caps,mirrors,etc.) while running but nothing seems to stop or even lessen... any suggestions here would be friggin great.

OK, open to any questions or suggestions on keeping her in top shape.

·
Registered
3,981 Posts