V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay...picked up my '99 Fatboy today and was able to ride it home just before the rain drops fell. For the 20 minutes I was able to ride, I was happy happy. I'm not new to bikes, but I am new to Harley's. I was a bit surprised that at 60mph it seemed like the engine was lugging in top gear. Normal? Is top gear on this baby reserved for 65+mph? Maybe I'm being to anal, but I really want to take care of this bike as best I can and don't want to be harming the motor in anyway. Any thoughts?

·
You're an evildoer.
559 Posts
Thats an EVO right? I cant remember what year they changed Softails over.

By no means is 60 lugging. On my EVO I can go 45 in top gear and that will lug if going up a hill a little bit.

On the 06, I seem to be in top gear faster, but still not lugging at all.

·
You're an evildoer.
559 Posts
I have a tach, so to keep it over 2k, shift at 20, 30, 40, 50. Thats a general safe place to go to the next gear. In School zones, at 15, I keep it in 2nd, and use the clutch in and out to maintain speed, or just keep it in first and keep the revs up depending on the engine warm up.

·
Banned
21,644 Posts
I would think your all right. I was surpised at how much I was shifting way to quick. Going from *** to HD is you may be used to shifting on sound. Harleys are loud get used to it. I have never even hit my rev limiter. IMO you will be surprised how much you can wind the bike up and still not be that high. I don't have a tach. But like I said I have never hit the limiter.

·
You're an evildoer.
559 Posts
Good point about the sound...stock 06 sounds different and thats what I shift by. I am often searching for another gear because of its different sound.

·
Premium Member
81 Posts
racerjay said: