V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am buying a FLSTCI 2006 (Heritage softail classic) and getting cross-over screaming eagle exhausts and air filter cit installed.

I have been told that I will need a different mapping installed, the whole module, since the 2006 module will not handle the necessary changes needed with the freeer flowing exhaust and filter.

Is that correct? Over than going for the Screaming Eagle Pro Race tuner what other options do I have??

I am really new to all this so do not really understand that much about the EFI stuff.

So any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

·
Premium Member
11,928 Posts
by module, do you mean the ecm?f so, run forest run far away from that dealer.

·
Premium Member
947 Posts
You just need the Stage 1 remap:beer4u:
No need for a new "module"

Should be around $150.00 for the map or $360.00+ for the race tuner:unsure:

·
Total Nutcase
2,691 Posts
I don't have a softail, but I have an '06 Dyna. I don't think the dealer is telling you anything wrong. I think you may have misunderstood him. You don't need a new module, but if you upgrade the exhaust and the AC, you need a re-map (download or SERT) for your current module. Some people are happy with a simple Stage I download, but personally, I think the dealer is right to sell you a SERT (Screamin Eagle Race Tuner). The Stage I download for '06 bikes is lean... it will work if you only change the exhaust or the airbox, but you change both and you need a SERT to get it running right. If you look at the small print for the '06 download it is only recommended with the AC. On my Dyna, right now I tried to go cheap and save money - I bought the SEII slipons and SE/AC and the stage I download... I'm not happy and I'll be buying a SERT next month.

·
Premium Member
947 Posts
JamieWG said:
I'm not happy and I'll be buying a SERT next month.

Are we ever? :huh:

·
Premium Member
947 Posts
JamieWG said: