V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I ran across an article at http://silvercrow.com/performance/oilcooler.htm that gave diagrams and a short description of using the engine guard for an oil cooler. Sounded like a good idea to me. It described using a Lockhart DP-180 thermostat between the engine and oil filter. That brought up two questions: Is it a good idea to start with and what are the drawbacks? And where would I get the Lockhart thermostat or something comparable? Can anybody help me?

·
You're an evildoer.
559 Posts
Well, I am no expert but I can think of a few simple things that make me cringe at the thought of this....

The bar could have contamanents inside - bad especially if its post filter.
The bar might be corroded inside and that would add even more contamanents. Get something in a small hole and oil temp will be the least of your worries.
You scrape up your engine guard, you scrape up your oil cooler too. What happens if you do alot of dragging of that thing and then work a good hole somewhere?

Im sure there are other reasons why this wouldnt be an ideal solution. I would zip tie a car oil cooler to my bike before trusting the engine guard to do the job - it just doesnt seem safe.

·
The Anti-RUB
1,901 Posts
I second tibs thoughts. The inside tubing of engine guards aren't designed to be clean/smooth/rust free etc. So running your oil through it wouldn't be the best of ideas... Too many ways it could go horribly wrong. Good luck...

·
Premium Member
2,067 Posts
This has been covered in detail several times in the V-twin mods section and it IS perfectly safe and effective.

Here is a quote from an advertisement for the kits to convert your engine guard to an oil cooler: