V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thanks in advance for everyone's insight... I've learned a ton just by lurking over the past week. Now I've got a question...

I just sold my Sportster and I'm due to pick up a 2003 Heritage Softail next month. I've already pre-ordered V&H Big Shots and a Stage I kit. However, I'm new to fuel injected bikes, so I'm a little confused about what I need to do to get the performance improvements from the pipes and hi-flow air cleaner.

Like rejetting a carb, I understand that the fuel injection must be reprogrammed, but is the EFI remap that comes with Stage I sufficient? I see all sorts of ads and discussion on the Power Commander, how does it differ? and is the extra cost worth it?

My goal is to get the engine running at an optimal level, but I'm not trying to wring every last bit of HP out of the motor at the expense of reliability.

Thx,
Eric

·
Registered
130 Posts
First off, when you say you are getting the Stage I kit, is it the kit that includes the reflash, or just the SE air cleaner. It the kit includes the reflash, and I assume it does, and you aren't planning any more engine modifications, then you are all set. A power commander or DFO will allow you to readjust the fuel curve to tune out any performance issues you may have or to compensate for any additional modifications you make. But if you are done with the work you have already ordered, they wouldn't be worth the extra expense.

I just had a **** load of work done on my bike and opted to have a stage II remap done. I removed the Power COmmander that I had been using before. BIke runs great as is. I just sold the PC and am happy as is.

YMMV
Ken

·
Registered
276 Posts
Harley remaps are still EPA legal so they are not letting your motor put out what it can. Power Comander or HD Tuner tuned on a dyno is your best bet.

·
EvilMonger
8,793 Posts