V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, so this is a total newbie questions and for that I apologize in advance.

I'm looking to get a new bike in a few months hopefully (graduating college, getting a "real job") and need some help. What are the main differences between the Softail and Dyna lines? I've had a Sportster before, but other then that my H-D knowledge is seriously lacking I'm afraid. Even if you can just point me towards a good source of info I'd be happy to read through it myself. I just can't seem to glean the main difference between the lines from the H-D website.

I've always thought of the Softail as the quintessential Harley, but I'm really liking some of the Dyna designs too, and some of them appear to be less expensive.

Any help is appreciated in pointing me down the right road. Thanks!

·
I'm Paid Up...
1,732 Posts
A softtail rides very firm, and a dyna rides good. The rear suspension is hidden on the softtail and is tucked horizontally under the trans. Dynas have "conventional" rear suspension geometry. But I guess you have to buy what looks the coolest to you. I have one of each, plus a road king.

·
Premium Member
31 Posts
Softails have a solid mounted balanced motor and Dynas have a rubber mounted unbalanced motor.

·
Ironbutt
7,412 Posts
slide13 said:
What are the main differences between the Softail and Dyna lines?
Different motor, different suspension, different ride. Other than that they are the same :laugh: Seriously though, before you buy something you really should try to test drive a few models. Some people buy strictly based on looks and then end up regretting that decision.

·
Lazy 98
355 Posts
Rent One