V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
hearitage 04 vivid black
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
does anyone run deer whistles on there bike. if so where did you put them thanks:wootdnc:

·
03 FLHTCUI
375 Posts
Be real, real careful how you mount them. If you get them on backward, they actually call the deer to you.

Ride Safe.
Walt

·
killer sperm
2,852 Posts
Don't bother, that puny little devise won't accomplish what a train whistle cant. We hit 'em all the time with trains, even at lower speeds.

·
hearitage 04 vivid black
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
:roflback: :roflback: :roflback: :roflback: :roflback: :roflback: :roflback: :clap: :clap: ok thanks i was just wondering

·
Here We Go, Steelers
64 Posts
I got a Hornet deer whistle as a gift but I haven't installed it yet. It's powered from the battery and maintains the same frequency regardless of the vehicle speed. I'm sure it is much different than a train whistle, but I'm no acoustical engineer. I do wonder if it's effective though. Here in PA it's like playing Russian roulette every time we ride.

·
Registered
260 Posts
Here in PA it's like playing Russian roulette every time we ride.
It's similar here in MN. Our family has a heard of over 400 whitetails that frequent our fields evey night, with similar sized heards all around ours. We were finally issued a letter to basically shoot at will. It doesn't help. Poor state management has resulted in extreame overpopulation.

I had two deer hits in '91. One was in the front that took me into a ditch full of cattails and water. This was at around the 55mph speed limit. It took 4 people to get that old Honda CB650 out of the mud.

Second time I was only going around 15mph in a small town and was taken from the side. It flattened me out. Hurt like hell. There's probably been a dozen near misses since these. Day & night.

·
Here We Go, Steelers
64 Posts