V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
2005 Road King Classic
1,632 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need help dealing with this dealer. Any advice would be appreciated. My questions are at the end. Here is my plight.

I have been messing around with my Cruise Control for about six months. It would work for awhile then would mess up, doing weird stuff with accelerating on its own being the worse of it. I went to the dealer, and got on the list for them to look at it in two weeks. Great!!

Ok, I can deal with that, after all it is only the cruise.

Go in for the appointment, and the next day was told my cruise was broken. No shiite sherlock! I have the choice to leave it for five days or just bring it back while they order a Cruise Cable.

I'll take it, after all, it is only the cruise.

Take it back after the requesite five days. "Yep we have the part, call you when it is done." I'm not even home when they call me. "We ordered the wrong part. It'll take another five days to get the correct one in." Again the option to keep it or bring it back.

I'll take it, again, after all, it is only the ...

...Bring it back and "Yep we have the part, but I'm down two mechanics this week and can't get to it for at least 3 days."

Now I'm a pretty laidback fellow but this is just about over the top. I leave it this time.

Five days later, I finally call..."That didn't fix it. We have messed with it and can't find the problem, it doesn't work at all now. I havn't worked on it the past two days because Harley isn't going to pay any more to troubleshoot it and I need to let my mechanic work on other bikes so he can make some money."

INCREDIBLE!!

The next day... "It's fixed. Come and get it this afternoon." What was wrong, I ask. "We found a bent pin in the module, must have been there from the factory" No, I said. When trouble shooting it two weeks ago you had the module off and that is when it quit working all together. You bent the pin.