V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I ride an 03 Fatboy with REVTEC wheels (pic attached). The bike really doesn't track well at all. Even with Metzlers. My tech told me on my last tire change that my custom wheels have old fashioned bearings (not sealed bearings) and this will cause the bike to feel loose. My question is; does anyone out there know if I can replace the bearings and races in my REVTEC wheels with new style sealed bearings safely?

Thankx and happy holidays to all!

·
Registered
6,413 Posts
I've been riding these things since 1956 and I've never had that kind of problem with Timken tapered bearings in the wheels provided the end play is set correctly. Personally, I think the tech is wrong. Did he even know enough to check end play on the wheels you have?? Was the end play checked when the wheels were new??

·
Premium Member
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I know the bearing end play was checked when the last set of tires were replaced. I am assuming that it was done properly.

·
Registered
6,413 Posts
Don't know what else to tell you except that properly set up timken tapered wheel bearings will not cause a problem.

·
Registered
1,177 Posts
Rthomson said:
I ride an 03 Fatboy with REVTEC wheels (pic attached). The bike really doesn't track well at all. Even with Metzlers. My tech told me on my last tire change that my custom wheels have old fashioned bearings (not sealed bearings) and this will cause the bike to feel loose. My question is; does anyone out there know if I can replace the bearings and races in my REVTEC wheels with new style sealed bearings safely?

Thankx and happy holidays to all!
I never had a problem with the Timken bearings on any of my older bikes. First, I would check the usual suspects: air in tires pressure set to factory specs, rear axle centered in swing arm, steering head bearings properly adjusted.