102 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can anyone explain to me WHY, WHY, WHY shovelheads are sooooooo
prone to fouling out plugs!!!!!!!!!??????????? :confused: :confused:
bear

·
Premium Member
852 Posts
somebody correct me if i'm wrong but i think it has to do with the hemi design in the combustion chamber and with only one plug it just can't burn efficiently thats why i went to a dual plug setup and i can now run at least about 5000 miles on a set as long as i'm not just runnin around town jackin down on it alot and even then just take a long run at normal speeds and they pretty much clean themselves. just my opinion........

·
Registered
297 Posts
I haven't come across that problem yet. Bought a new set of plugs in the beginning of summer and they have been going good ever since. I'm only a beginner wrench, but I thought fouled plugs were a result of an over jetted carb. Are there other things that could cause them to foul?

·
Registered
345 Posts
Hi
that`s right !
Happenend the same to me.Proper jetting and proper (in my case hotter) spark-plugs, result: No more fouled plugs.
Carb(seals), ignition, camshaft are the usual suspects.
ray

·
Premium Member
852 Posts