V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm new to VTF and have been reading as much as I can. I just bought a Aniversary Edition 2003 Road King Classic (Silvr and Black) and have decided to add the crash bar oil cooler that other folks have talked about. I have a few questions before I get started:

1) Has anyone added a small vent/filler port on top of the crash bar? I think it would be handy to fill up the bar from the top during an oil change so the system wouldn't have so much air in it at start up. If this is a good idea, what kind of port would work best? The crash bar wall thickness seems a little thin to put a 1/8th inch NPT plug into.

2) What keeps the oil from draining out of the crash bar when the bike is parked? Seems like it could make a real mess if it backed up into the oil tank then ran over. I plan to use a the offset JAGG adapter with a thermostat between the oil filter and the filter bracket to access the oil flow.

Thanks for any help in advance!

·
Registered
3,981 Posts
jim_98335 said:
Hi,

I'm new to VTF and have been reading as much as I can. I just bought a Aniversary Edition 2003 Road King Classic (Silvr and Black) and have decided to add the crash bar oil cooler that other folks have talked about. I have a few questions before I get started:

1) Has anyone added a small vent/filler port on top of the crash bar? I think it would be handy to fill up the bar from the top during an oil change so the system wouldn't have so much air in it at start up. If this is a good idea, what kind of port would work best? The crash bar wall thickness seems a little thin to put a 1/8th inch NPT plug into.

2) What keeps the oil from draining out of the crash bar when the bike is parked? Seems like it could make a real mess if it backed up into the oil tank then ran over. I plan to use a the offset JAGG adapter with a thermostat between the oil filter and the filter bracket to access the oil flow.