V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
388 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2003 FFI Electra Glide standard and it will not start. It cranks and cranks but no fire. I read the code on my bike with the Twin Scan tool on my computer. It told me that it was the crank position sensor. I also pulled the plugs and they were dry (no fuel). I also pulled the quick connect at the gas tank and it had plenty of pressure in the gas line. I would like to know how common it would be that the crank position would go bad? I tried to ohm the crank position out per service manual and I have a hard time understanding what they want me to check and how they want me to do it. The manual also states that it will set the crank position sensor if you crank the bike over for more that 5 seconds. My plans are to just buy another sensor and if it does not fix it then I’ll have a spare. Can any one please me your opinion?
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
5,114 Posts
WFO said:
I have a 2003 FFI Electra Glide standard and it will not start. It cranks and cranks but no fire. I read the code on my bike with the Twin Scan tool on my computer. It told me that it was the crank position sensor. I also pulled the plugs and they were dry (no fuel). I also pulled the quick connect at the gas tank and it had plenty of pressure in the gas line. I would like to know how common it would be that the crank position would go bad? I tried to ohm the crank position out per service manual and I have a hard time understanding what they want me to check and how they want me to do it. The manual also states that it will set the crank position sensor if you crank the bike over for more that 5 seconds. My plans are to just buy another sensor and if it does not fix it then I’ll have a spare. Can any one please me your opinion?
The sensor is magnetic and it will acumulate metal mixed with oil forming a gunk that will disturb the signal....remove the sensor, clean it off and reinstall it. Try starting the bike again.....good luck
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
388 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
hdmd88 said:
The sensor is magnetic and it will acumulate metal mixed with oil forming a gunk that will disturb the signal....remove the sensor, clean it off and reinstall it. Try starting the bike again.....good luck
I took the sensor out and it was clean.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
46 Posts
WFO said:
I have a 2003 FFI Electra Glide standard and it will not start. It cranks and cranks but no fire. I read the code on my bike with the Twin Scan tool on my computer. It told me that it was the crank position sensor. I also pulled the plugs and they were dry (no fuel). I also pulled the quick connect at the gas tank and it had plenty of pressure in the gas line. I would like to know how common it would be that the crank position would go bad? I tried to ohm the crank position out per service manual and I have a hard time understanding what they want me to check and how they want me to do it. The manual also states that it will set the crank position sensor if you crank the bike over for more that 5 seconds. My plans are to just buy another sensor and if it does not fix it then I’ll have a spare. Can any one please me your opinion?
I'm assuming that you got a DTC P0373 or DTC P0374. I can understand your confusion in analyzing the trouble shooting flow chart for those DTC's. I looked at my 2004 EDM and bullet steps 1 & 2 check to see if the CKP sensor is shorted to ground. A short for that test is any resistance less than 1 megohm. This tells me that you should have good isolation between the leads of the CXP sensor and ground. If the resistance test passed then I would go straight to bullet step 3. Bullet step three checks the voltage output of the CXP sensor. It states if you connect a Digital Volt Meter (set to read AC volts) to terminals 1 and 2 of connector 79 and crank the motor that you should read 1 VAC minimum. If you don't get the required output AC voltage to replace the CKP sensor.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
66 Posts
03 Fxsti
My crank sensor went out just shy of 5000 miles.
Went for a ride...all fine and came home and parked in the garage.
Two days later tried to start it for a ride and it wouldn't start!
Turns over fine, just won't fire.
Tried to start it for two days on several occassions...no start.

Couple of days later loaded it onto my truck to go to the dealer.
Just for fun, tried to start it on the truck...and, it started fine!!!

Crank sensor is intermittant like that, so I kind'a figure that was it.
Took to dealer and, yup, bad crank sensor!!
Replaced and no problems since!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
388 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Samuel1941 said:
03 Fxsti
My crank sensor went out just shy of 5000 miles.
Went for a ride...all fine and came home and parked in the garage.
Two days later tried to start it for a ride and it wouldn't start!
Turns over fine, just won't fire.
Tried to start it for two days on several occassions...no start.

Couple of days later loaded it onto my truck to go to the dealer.
Just for fun, tried to start it on the truck...and, it started fine!!!

Crank sensor is intermittant like that, so I kind'a figure that was it.
Took to dealer and, yup, bad crank sensor!!
Replaced and no problems since!!

That was the way mine is. I put it a way for a few days went to start it and the bike would not start. It just started fine the other day. It was just like hitting a light switch. One day on, and just like that, it was off.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
388 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
My wife stopped to get me a new crank position sensor. The stealer told her that could order me one but they never seem to go bad. She brought the old one home and told me if I wanted to order one I should just give them a call. I though the heck with ordering a new CPS. I thought I would just give the one that I had a try again. I plugged it into the wiring harness and turned the switch on and the fuel pump started to turn on and off, the throttle body started to make all kinds of clicking noises, and the bike sneezed out the throttle body. I tapped on the power commander and everything stopped. I bypassed the power commander turned the switch and every thing was good. I plugged the power commander back in and tapped on the power commander things started to go wack-o again. I called power commander and they told me that I should send it back so that they can test it. I currently have it boxed up and ready to send back. I hope with in the next two weeks I find something out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
62 Posts
two issues here... first I have personally seen problems resulting from the crank sensor when using a power commander it seems that the pc requires a cleaner signal than the factory sensor can provide on occasion ran into this on two different bikes changed sensor and all was good ... second issue power comander has admitted that they have a software problem on certian modles that can result in hard starts and poor driveability and were repairing (reprograming ) them at no cost to the customer
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
73 Posts
wfo,
I had a similar problem and mine was low battery power. I would have bet the farm that was not the problem. The motor would crank over fine but would not fire with the PC on it. Only sympton was a slight hesitation when I hit the starter button. Set the same codes. It finally got to the point that the starter was clicking and then I realized my problem. I would load test the battery.
You can also check the crank sensor by putting an ac volt meter across the terminals and crank the engine over for 10 to 20 seconds with the ecm unplugged. You should read around 3.5 (my old one)and 4.0 volts(my new one)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
388 Posts
Discussion Starter #11 (Edited)
Update:

Phil called me from Power Commander. He told me that my PC tested good then he asked me what model of bike that I have. I told him that it was a 03 Electra glide. He told me that the PC that I bought was for a 03 Softail. I told him that the sticker on the box said 02 and up Touring models. He told me that unfortunately that a few PC back then went out the door with the wrong sticker on the box stating the wrong model. He can’t believe that it did not run bad right from the start. I told him that I had it on for 2.5 years, 20,000 miles and had no problems till now. He told me that he was going to send me a new PC in the mail and I should have it shortly. I wonder how many other people get the wrong PC on their bike. That is the way my luck goes. I hope to soon receive my new PC in the mail to try it out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
388 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
I got my new PC back today and my bike runs good. Plus it has much more throttle response.
 

·
0043--Licensed to Doof!
Joined
·
4,369 Posts
Nice to see a company stand behind their products like that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
388 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
Geezer-Glide said:
Nice to see a company stand behind their products like that.

So am I.................
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
WFO said:
Phil called me from Power Commander. He told me that my PC tested good then he asked me what model of bike that I have. I told him that it was a 03 Electra glide. He told me that the PC that I bought was for a 03 Softail. I told him that the sticker on the box said 02 and up Touring models. He told me that unfortunately that a few PC back then went out the door with the wrong sticker on the box stating the wrong model. He can’t believe that it did not run bad right from the start. I told him that I had it on for 2.5 years, 20,000 miles and had no problems till now. He told me that he was going to send me a new PC in the mail and I should have it shortly. I wonder how many other people get the wrong PC on their bike. That is the way my luck goes. I hope to soon receive my new PC in the mail to try it out.
WFO

What model of Power Commander did you have that was mis-labelled. I have a 2003 Road Glide with a PC IIIr that is a PITA to start and I'm looking for anything to help correct the condition. I'm gonna try the crank position sensor cleaning first.

Lomax
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
388 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
ArkieNuke said:
WFO

What model of Power Commander did you have that was mis-labelled. I have a 2003 Road Glide with a PC IIIr that is a PITA to start and I'm looking for anything to help correct the condition. I'm gonna try the crank position sensor cleaning first.

Lomax
The number in the old box is PC807-311 PCIIIr, 02 HD TOURING MODELS. My old PC had a chrome face on it and is NOT the USB type.

The number of the new replacement PC is 805-311R also printed on the sticker of the are the numbers ( For 805-311 806-311 807-311) My replacement has a grey face on it and is NOT the USB type.

If you need to know any other information let me know.
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
Top