V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
110 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone out there had problems with burnt up clutch. With just 725 miles my clutch was burnt up the dealer covered it under warranty, but is now trying to bill me because Harley turned down their warranty claim, stating that the clutch is a non warranty item? Come on with just 725 miles this is a joke I have been riding a 85 Gs1150E for ten years with no clutch problems at all. Any help wold be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
603 Posts
RVROD, that really seems strange. REAL STRANGE. Did H-D tell you that the clutch was a non-warranty item ? (BS). Has Your clutch been fixed ? Have you had any out of pocket expenses ? Do not pay anyone anything. What were your symptoms ? Can you give more specifics ?

JMS

·
Registered
450 Posts
RVROD

I agree with JMS. there are TONS of V-ROD riders that have been aggressively using thier clutches for about a year now. Other than the fact that the clutch is a "Wet" clutch and operates differently that the conventional Harley clutches I haven't heard of one problem except yours.

I am wondering if the bike was serviced properly in that the dealer set up technician MAY have not have detected that the fluid was low or non-existant. Its dot 5 fluid like the brakes. That would burn it up in VERY SHORT ORDER!!.

By the way, THERE IS NO ADJUSTMENT like the conventional HD clutches.

My assessment is that the factory didn't pay the dealer because the dealer should have caught the problem. NOT YOUR ISSUE!!

Regards.

V-ROD I FL

·
Registered
477 Posts